More projects than you can shake a stick at

New projects just keep piling up! What’s a girl to do??

1. I must finish birthday knitting for my sister, which at this point is almost a month late. In my defense, this project has decided to become difficult and I had to figure out a way to tame it into submission before I threw it across the room to the cats. I have it figured out, but now I have to finish it. The cats are disappointed.

2. I’m going to be a grandma! (which really should be in first place on my list but I have till January to get all the baby knitting done). I have already completed a baby blanket, a variation onĀ Sunbreak, and am working on a pseudo-matching sweater (matching only in yarn):

3. I want to knit virtually everything in these two books (this will be one well-dressed baby):

Despite having an enormous stash, I ordered machine washable yarn from KnitPicks. It’s always great when you have a legitimate reason to order more yarn. Guilt-free yarn, how is that even possible!

4. These are two shawl/shawlettes I am knitting with Kathryn’s beautiful yarn. The pattern is mostly written up but I have to finish the red shawl, block the shawls and revise the pattern. Hopefully it will be finished this month. (oh, and a sock pattern and a pair of sample socks with her yarn).

5. I am itching to get to work on a longer-term project. I have many beautiful pillowcases from Hungary embroidered by my grand-mother many many years ago with different Hungarian motifs. They were well loved in my family (read used and abused) and so are now quite fragile. I plan on reinterpreting these designs into double-knitting patterns. I even found some Hungarian embroidery books for sale at our library for 50 cents each!

And to make all this knitting even more fun (how is that possible you ask?), I’ve accumulated a stash of stitch markers from Francine, leaves, owls and citrus fruit.

Of course I have other projects on the go, but admitting one’s insanity is always best done in baby steps, I say.

2 thoughts on “More projects than you can shake a stick at

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!! a baby to knit for !!!! I love the blanket and the embroidery from your Grandmother . I can’t wait to see how you reinvent the motifs in knitting. It will be amazing. :)

  2. Yay! Congratulations on the impending grandchild! And I just love Francine’s oranges & lemons and barely restrained myself from getting some of my own. I’m sure I’ll have some by November ;)

    Bring on the double knitting! That embroidery is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

