All roads lead to…. more WIPs (works-in-progress or knitterly ADD)

I tried to focus, really I did. By publicly listing my priorities, I thought I would force myself to stick to them. I thought I had good self-awareness. Apparently not. I am instead obsessively working on Regent, in Asia – a cotton/bamboo yarn I got ages ago for about $3 a ball (stash busting, good!) and even found a lovely woman in Halifax who sold me 2 more balls because I think I might be short (gotta love Ravelry). I knit the body in 2.5 days while mostly listening to the audio book of Hilary Mantel’s Bring up the Bodies (which I also just read). Fantastic book and audio. Today I will pick up for the ruffle (I’ll do the sleeves last, thinking I might do them with short rows from the top down).

But that’s not all. Before Regent grabbed hold of my fruit-fly sized attention span, I started Raiun, in silvery grey cotton Grace from Patons (another bargoon from last year, or was it the year before). I will get back to that one shortly. Maybe on the flight to Kelowna, when we go to visit family. It’s a great pattern, top-down, nice modern sleek look. I might make one in wool too. When I clone myself.

Raiun

AND, I picked up The Whiteness of the Whale, except mine is the Blueness of the Whale or maybe more appropriately the Periwinkleness of the Whale? I’m using Araucania Itata, which was another uber-sale item on Elann. It looks like whale tails running down the back of the cardigan. I just just started. It would be a fantastically light sweater for the summer, so I must actually finish it this summer, no?

Whale

In between I will feel pangs of guilt and knit a few more rows on the 2nd sleeve of my sister’s cardigan. I will get it done… soon.

Maureen, Kathryn and I will go on a little road trip tomorrow, checking out Just Knitting in Carleton Place (where Kathryn will have some of her yarn for sale) and any other yarn/fiber related shop we find on the way. I will try to remember to takes pictures and we will post about our adventures. Because lord knows, we just don’t have enough yarn.

Leave a Reply

