Procrastination, thy name is hemp and Noro and anything else I can think of…

I have been trying to stay on track, I am now dedicating myself to knitting up shawl and sock samples with Kathryn’s yarn in time for the Twist Fibre Festival in St. Andre-Avellin which we will be attending, Kathryn will be a vendor. Hope to see you there. The Yarn Harlot will be there, teaching how to knit with speed and efficiency. Personally, I’d like to learn how to grow two more arms so I can double my output. It would look more than a little freaky but might be well worth it, no? That said, it is not stopping me from starting a hemp skirt:

I have done my gauge swatch, washed it, dried it and I get 19.5 sts x 32 rows. Hmmm. I never get gauge with hemp, never, ever. I just accept that and work around it. So I guess I will cast on for a smaller size and knit the width of a larger size. Should work out in the end. I hope.

We were recently in Kelowna, visiting the folks, and while I was there I picked up some Noro Kirameki singles. I whipped up a little summer top. I used just over one skein but could have done it with one if I had used less increases. I’m very happy with result. It is a top-down v-neck raglan that I just winged. First it was too big, then too small, third time was the charm. Isn’t that always the case?

I also finished Raiun! I really like the back detailing, very modern and crisp looking:But it wasn’t all about me (well, the ratio seems to always be 2 for me, 1 for somebody else). I did finish another baby blanket. OpArt from Knitty. It was a fun and easy knit. I made it smaller than the smallest size which turned out to be plenty big.Well, off to work on the shawl, or maybe the hemp skirt…

One thought on “Procrastination, thy name is hemp and Noro and anything else I can think of…

  1. Lovely work! So glad you mentioned Op Art, too — I have a baby blanket to make, and was fishing around for just the right pattern for this yarn. That may be the one.

Leave a Reply

