Merry Christmas to me!

Well, had a teensy setback in Christmas shopping, haha, splurging on myself – well, ourselves (I will let my husband use what I bought, really I will). Maureen (one of the three crazy knitters) had an open house this weekend with lots of new pottery for sale. Who can resist?? I am slowly building up a collection of Maureen’s and David’s pottery, so I did little pre-Christmas self-shopping.

These are Maureen’s. They are small mugs, just the right size for sharing a small pot of tea or a small strong coffee:

m3

m5

And these are David’s. I love the cup with the indent for your thumb, fits comfortably right into your hand.

m1

m4

 

 

And here are my mugs, all together! (the middle one was already in the collection)

pottery

And there are more things for me! Well one, I finished my Woodburne cardigan. It turned out perfectly.

wb1

The saddle shoulder was very interesting to knit, you knit it together with the front and the back of the sweater and it is not unlike working the heel of a sock. Very clever.

wb4

I almost finished my son’s Xmas sweater, but of course I have been cheating. I am just having too much fun knitting Aranami, I am using Palette from Knitpicks. You just knit one little triangle at a time, so it is a bit addictive, it is easy to pick up and put down – unfortunately there will be a lot of ends to weave in when finished 😦

2

And I started a Knitpicks kit I had bought awhile ago, Corrie Vest.

1

I am really enjoying knitting this and want to practice two-handed stranded knitting, in anticipation of receiving a new book from Kate Davies!! Colours of Shetland (another Christmas present to myself?) So many beautiful patterns! I have Jamieson & Smith, which I bought from Deb Wilson who sells it from her Sheeps Ahoy online shop, for the Scatness Tam, but will use my stash for much of the rest of the patterns (I have oodles of Spindrift and Palette). I figure by the time I finish my vest, I will be able to tackle the patterns in the book without too many screw-ups.

Frankie has been very patient with my knitting. He is learning not to throw himself at me when I am in the middle of knitting a stitch. I guess screaming NOOOOOO at the top of my lungs really does work. He just looks at me, a little forlorn, and goes to his toys, which never say no.

toys

I know, spoiled dog.

3 thoughts on “Merry Christmas to me!

  1. I love the mugs! It’s a good thing I’m all the way over here far away from such temptation.
    Lovely sweater, as always. I love the Aranami pattern and I’d like to try it too, but I’m still working on her Issey scarf so I can’t even contemplate starting a new pattern.
    I’ve been thinking of you this week as I’m working on my sheep heid (had to restart due to sloppy ribbing, but it’s looking good now).

    • Haha, I saw your sheep heid post. (I had to restart my sheep heid too, to loosey goosey with the stitches at first). I can’t wait for her book!

Leave a Reply

