Big Beautiful Batts

A brand new toy (ummm, I mean tool) came into my studio last Thursday. A Patrick Green Big Batt Drum Carder. The excitement!!! The anticipation!!! I spent Friday dyeing up bits and pieces of fibre so there would be something to experiment on. Julie and I set a date for a carding party, and on sunday we spent the day in fibery heaven. We opened Deb Menz’s Colour in Spinning up to the the carding section and then we got busy.

The carder in motion

The carder in motion

 A batt being formed

A batt being formed

The finished batt!!

The finished batt!!

another batt

another batt

yet another

yet another

Monday we spent the afternoon spinning up our new treasures.

All spun up. 50 grams of incredibly soft gorgeous yarn.

All spun up. 50 grams of incredibly soft gorgeous yarn.

Our spinning companion

Our spinning companion

Now it’s back to the studio. Stay tuned for more beautiful batts, soon to be available at katsriversidestudio.etsy.com

5 thoughts on “Big Beautiful Batts

  1. Wow!! that looks amazing ladies! you are having so much fun up there in Wakefield! hey, I have a challenge that maybe you can help me with. I have been shaving my poodle for 6 years now and keeping some of his fur when it is long long.. do you know anyone who would spin it for me?

    Anne Bursey (crazy dog lady who will not tell everyone what kind of wool it is she is knitting after it is spun!)

    • Hi Anne,

      You are right, it is fun in Wakefield. I have bee given a bag of dog hair that I am a bit frighten to open it. I hope it doesn’t smell too doggy. I don’t know anyone who will spin for hire but I bet you could find someone on Ravelry.

      Kathryn

Leave a Reply

