How many patterns does it take to knit a sweater?

I am home, sick, a bad cold has a stranglehold on me; within 4 hours of having a sore throat, I graduated to full blown snot-dom. Despite feeling wretched, I managed to finish 2 sweaters and hope to finish a third. As it turns out, these 3 sweaters are essentially made up by me. I used one pattern for sizing, and another for the whale graph (which I was going to graph out myself but I don’t believe in duplication of effort), but that was it, the rest was knit with a modicum of planning and on the fly. Now, my Ravelry library says I have 7,219 patterns. Which is INSANE. In my defence, this includes every pattern in every book I own and magazine to which I subscribe, or bought for a few patterns in them that I liked. But then I end up knitting 3 sweaters that don’t use any of these patterns. So I think it is time to cull the herd. This spring I will go through everything and destash some of these magazines and books. My sagging bookshelves will thank me, I am sure. (Seriously, the shelves on two of my bookshelves have actually collapsed, I blame poor manufacturing and not the weight of all that paper and cardboard).

So here is a little show and tell:1aIMG_1755(Yes, that is still snow and ice in the background, ugh). My turquoise tunic turned out almost exactly as I imagined! I’m pretty happy with it. I like the fit and the red pockets. For the pocket edges I just knit 3 rows of reverse stockinette and cast off. Of course one was looser than the other, and they were both looser than I wanted so I then crocheted a chain along the inside to tighten everything up. I should have just ripped out the edging and reknit it, but I had already attached the sides and sewed everything down when I realized that things were a bit too loose.

I’m in full knitting mode for my grandson, have to get these done before heading off to Cape Cod. One is finished:1aIMG_1766The yarn is very soft and silky (KnitPicks Comfy fingering – cotton and acrylic). I decided to leave one shoulder for buttoning since this yarn has no give and I was worried it might not fit over his large baby head. And finally, I’m working away on the shadow fish sweater, just about finished the back:1aIMG_1770I’m not sure how I want to do the neckline, I might just go with a boat neck, the easiest option.

Well that’s all for now, off to blow my nose for the billionth time…

 

4 thoughts on “How many patterns does it take to knit a sweater?

  1. Hi Julie, So sorry to hear you are sick. it doesn’t sound like it stopped you from your passion. The striped one looks gorgeous, love the red pockets.I love the spout on the one whale. Take care of yourself. Mary

  2. I love that tunic! The fit is perfect and those details in the pockets and the striping make it really special. 🙂

Leave a Reply

