Better late than never!

I am a bit late in posting about the Twist Festival that took place on August 22-23 because Cape Cod got in the way! We had a great time at the festival, there were tons of vendors and huge crowds. Here is our stall featuring Stephen West’s Dotted Rays. The grey and gold leaf shawl is a Berroco pattern called Mrs. Watson (there’s a name that just rolls of the tongue) which only used 3 skeins of the MCN sport weight yarn.5For the dotted rays shawl, we used 4 different colours of our lace weight, held double. I made the golden one and Kathryn made the purply one. Here is the breakdown of how I divided the skeins:

Colour A: 2 x 21 gm (A+A), 14 gm (A+B)
Colour B: 4 x 14 gm (A+B, B+B, B+C)
Colour C: 4 x 14 gm (B+C, C+C, C+D)
Colour D: 14 gm, 2 x 21 gm (C+D, D+D)

This is a really fun pattern and even more fun to knit when you use different colours. I joined the yarn together using the Russian join. If you don’t know how to do it, scroll to the bottom of this Knitty article.

We met up with lots of friends, like Francine who sells shawl pins and stitch markers and Yvonne who runs Yvieknits Yarns, featuring many of Natalie Servant’s patterns at their booth:14Also Sheeps Ahoy. Deb sells Shetland yarns in addition to Briar Rose. More of Natalie’s shawls! I was supposed to knit up that red vest in time for the November Needlers’ retreat but I won’t have time (the plan was for 3 or 4 of us friends to all do it). I am actual teaching this year, double knitting, and have loads of samples I need to finish instead and time to waste freaking out about the whole thing. Maybe next year…9Laura Sheppard pottery was there too with lots of sheepy yarn bowls and mugs:8Our friend Diane Lemire was there with the most beautiful and fantastical felted and silk scarves:11Another friend, who we first met at Twist, Veronique was also there. She makes jewelry from wire using bobbin lacemaking techniques. Her pieces are amazing.1312

We are now gearing up for the Mississippi Mills Fibrefest in Almonte, September 12-13. There a lots of fibre/yarn vendors, vintage clothing, quilters, buttons etc. Some of my favourite vendors will be there, like Windblest Farms with their lovely BFL yarn and fibre, and Kelly who runs Just Knitting, and who, it turns out, is a weaver extraordinaire! Please come and see us, and buy a few things. We are all in the Almonte Arena.

Did I mention Cape Cod? Right after Twist, I hit the road with hubby and doggy for a 10+ hour drive down to visit the grandkid. Didn’t have any knitted items for him this time, maybe for the fall, if I can find the time, gah! The weather was great:3And I learned a new trick from the grandkid, if you want to get sand off your feet ASAP, put some baby powder on it and it all falls away like nothing. Here he is showing his technique:

12

And after all that sun and sand, some ice cream at Ben & Jerry’s!4I did finish one knitted thing in Cape Cod. A sweater for myself. It is Sugarcoat from Heidi Kirrmaier. I used Knitpicks Lindy Chain, a linen/cotton blend.  I had 3/4 sleeves, until I washed it. I’m too lazy to rip back.

IMG_0835

IMG_0834

I’ll leave you with our new toy, an industrial toy that I put together myself!!15A new skein winder!!! It does 3 at a time!!! It has a motor and a yardage/rotation counter that actually stops!!! Can’t wait for more yarn to arrive to give her a spin.

2 thoughts on “Better late than never!

  1. Hi Julie,
    I am trying to find the hours for the Almonte fiber fest, it is not clear if they are the same as the museum. Is it sat 10am to 4 pm and sunday 1pm to 4 pm? I want to fit this in my crazy weekend! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

