Working on the weekend

I guess knitting with our yarn to make a sample could be considered working? Even if it is fun? And you can drink wine while doing it?  I dyed up some MCN lace in Cobalt & Rust recently. There was an underweight skein (90 gm), so I used it up to knit a versatile cowl. IMG_2373

This was yesterday (I started it on Friday), with my friend’s dog, Playa, offering support (and soulful eyes). And here it is today, all washed, blocked and dried. (Some day I will remember to look at the lens).

IMG_2382

It is super easy, using the Old Shale pattern.

Old Shale Cowl in MCN lace:

Gauge isn’t terribly important, I had 18 stitches per 4″ or 10 cm.

With 4 mm circular needles, cast on 216 stitches. Place marker and join in the round.

Round 1: purl

Round 2: knit

Round 3: purl (place markers every 18 stitches, this will make it easier to see what you are doing for the old shale pattern, this will also make it easier to drink wine and not totally screw up the pattern).

Round 4: [k2tog (3 times), *yo, k1* (6 times), ssk (3 times)]  repeat till end of round (a total of 12 times).

Round 5: purl

Round 6: knit

Round 7: knit

Repeat rounds 4-7 until desired length. I used about 3 gm of yarn for every repeat. Make sure you have at least 8 gm of yarn left before ending.

Finish on round 7 then repeat rounds 1-3 and cast off using a lace bind off, or your favourite stretchy bind off. I used this one: knit the first 2 stitches, put those 2 stitches back onto the left needle and knit them together through the back loop (k2tbl). You now have one stitch on the right needle and all the rest on the left, knit 1 stitch from left needle (2 on right needle now), put those 2 back on the left needle and knit them together through the back loop. Continue like this until all the stitches are bound off.

I’ll leave you with a few more craptastic shots!

1 (I have no idea what that white dot on my forehead is, either something on the mirror, or lint in my limp hair).

3 7

Enjoy!

 

5 thoughts on “Working on the weekend

  1. Hi!
    you look good, thanks for the pattern. If knitting with Kathryn’s yarn is working, I want a to work for you!!! Seriously, should you want more sampler, I volunteer to knit a project.
    see you soon,
    Ginette

  2. Hello Julie,
    Been following your blog from Philadelphia on and off for the last two years. Finally subscribed and decided to contact you to say how much I enjoy seeing your work (how do you do so much with a full time job) and to inquire about how to purchase you and the other Crazy Ladies
    yarn. Thanks for the cowl pattern. I’m looking forward to working it although I’m still working on a sweater I started in 1996 (perseverance!). Looking forward to hearing about the Twisted festival and looking forward to getting to Canada someday.
    Beverly

    • Hi Beverly, thanks for following the blog (I’ll be posting again this week). I am fortunate in that my retired husband does most of the housework, I cook, I in fact begged him NOT to cook since he thinks a steamed head of cabbage with olive oil constitutes a dinner. So that frees me up for a lot of knitting, haha. Our yarn is available here https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/katsriversidestudio Unfortunately there is a looming postal strike and the shop is temporarily closed but we are looking into couriers and will open up the shop again soon. Since we are such a small business we don’t get great discounts from private courier companies.

Leave a Reply

