What would you pay?

I’ve decided to make a few shawls to sell. We are constantly being asked at shows if the sample shawls are for sale. Now, I have no real idea what people are thinking when they ask this. I am sure if I said $200, they would say WHA? and if they offered me $60 I’d say WTF? Nevertheless, I’ve decided to knit up a few shawls and cowls. I’m using fingering- weight 100% silk, which I dyed and which I knit from my own patterns (which mostly reside in my head). The cowls will be knit from merino, and merino/cashmere. I am planning on charging between $80 and $170, depending on the complexity and size.IMG_1771

Notice the beaded bind off…IMG_1774

This one also has beads.

IMG_1777

IMG_1769

IMG_1778

I’m quite proud of this one, a crescent shawl. I used a German lace pattern for the bottom half. (My camera needs to be recharged so these are from the iPad).IMG_2485

IMG_2486

I think my prices are still a bargain. I am not counting the hours of knitting lest I stain these shawls with my tears in figuring out an hourly wage, haha. But I enjoy knitting them, and coming up with my own ideas, and I am curious to see if they will sell. If they sell like hot-cakes, I might up my prices, if they don’t, I won’t lower the prices, I’ll just prance around the house in all my silk-shawled glory, and if family and friends are really nice to me…

I have even managed to knit for myself. This tunic, Serenity, has been finished for quite a while. I used our fingering singles in the colour Dusk. I really love it, and I don’t look quite as fat in real life as I do in these pictures, although this IS an excellent sweater to hide all kinds of lumps and bumps.

c

(Frankie never worries about the size of HIS ass).

I also knit another cowl, which goes fabulously with my tunic. I used Mushroom and Damson & Denim in merino/cashmere/nylon lace. I have enough to knit another, which I might sell.

b

I still have another sweater to finish before the Twist Festival in our 8 ply sock, and a few more shawls, I hope.

(a wee update to the post – another sweater I knit!) I completely forgot to add this sweater to my post, Persimmon:

1aIMG_1744 I used Berroco’s Indigo, a yarn from recycled jeans. I really like the feel and love the colour (and I love matching my bag!) I changed the top pattern since the original just uses garter stitch. This yarn is not terribly bouncy and the garter stitch part was much wider, so I ripped back and substituted another pattern. I also knit an i-cord at the beginning of the garter stitch edges. It makes for a much neater edge.

1IMG_1745

Since I’ve already given you gratuitous Frankie butt shots, I’ll leave you with this cutie, can’t wait to see him again. He’s rocking that electro-static hair look!e

11 thoughts on “What would you pay?

  1. Gorgeous shawls! The German lace pattern is unusual and very beautiful. I think your prices are reasonable, considering the amount of work AND the fact that they’re unique designer shawls. And your grandson is such a cutie, especially with the wild hair! Mary Lou

  2. I wonder sometimes about how much I’d charge if I were to sell my knitted items. I go around in circles until I just give up. It’s a hard balance to find a price that pays you fairly but isn’t so crazy expensive no one is able to pay it. I’m glad you found a number that you’re happy with! I hope they go like hot cakes 🙂
    Also – what a cute puppy butt!

    • It is hard to find a good balance and I would never knit sweaters to sell, that’s for sure! I’m trying to come up with patterns that look nice but are not too complicated so I can knit them up fairly quickly and mindlessly. I don’t want to feel like I have to churn them out or that it becomes “work” so I’m just going to make them as the mood hits me. And yes, Frankie does have a cute butt!

  3. Great post Julie, it started off my day with a laugh, thanks.. The shawls and cowls are gorgeous,mmmmmmmm, getting some ideas! Mary

  4. Your serenity tunic is amazing and you really look great in it! I love it!!! I too had missed the butt shot, hypnotized by the knitting… Beautiful shawls! and yes, figuring out a price is really difficult for lovely handmade things…

Leave a Reply

