No excuses

Well actually, I am looking for excuses for not blogging for so long. Busy? Lazy? Can you be busy and lazy at the same time? I seem to have mastered it. We have had an insanely busy summer, and fall is already upon us (and soon I’m hightailing to Cape Cod in November for 3 weeks to help with the grandkids – sorry Kathryn!)

Twist Festival was great, with loads of people and great vendors. I stuck to buying some roving. We had a much better booth this year, hope we get the same one next year. We brought everything we had in the studio.img_2886

In an attempt to keep the arena cool, they turned the coolant on in the floor. There were so many people that it didn’t make any difference at all.

And then a few weeks later, Almonte! img_2124

We felt a bit cramped so maybe next year we will spring for a double booth. I bought the last of Windblest farm yarn. They have sold everything off after about 20 years in the sheep and yarn business. I will miss their lovely BFL yarns (I have hoarded enough for a few sweaters, not to mention some roving – Wabi Sabi has some Windblest roving, so get it while it lasts – I did!)  This will become a vest.img_2146

There is a new fibre fest next year in beautiful Prince Edward County. It’s just one day, Saturday, May 27, so if you are in the neighbourhood or want to go on a road trip, maybe see you there. We have signed up, now to find a place to stay…

I don’t think that I have finished ANY of the projects in progress in the previous post, but I’m close on a few, haha. I have knit over half of the shrug for my daughter. I might write up the pattern if it turns out all right. Here’s hoping it does!img_2163

img_2164

I do love the colours in Cobalt & Rust. I am using the 8ply supersock, one of my favourite yarns. I plan on adding a border, using short rows to increase coverage on the fronts.

I have also knit up a cotton sweater for myself, using some cheapo Value Village discontinued Scheepjes yarn (ah, nostalgia, my mom used to translate patterns into English for them).img_2159

Loved the pattern, Norah Gaughan in Vogue Knitting 2016 Fall. Interesting construction as always. And speaking of Norah Gaughan, she just published a fantastic book on cables. I highly recommend it. There are patterns, mostly original cables from Norah and all kinds of useful information.

img_2176

I have finished a sweater for grandson #1, an adorable robot sweater and have already started an abbreviated version for grandson #2. They are still too young to complain about matching ; )  My gauge was different so I winged some of it.img_2162

I used a combination of trapping floats and invisible floats:img_2175

That’s about it for my output so far. We have been too busy dyeing. When digging around for gloves that haven’t sprung a leak (pretty painful in simmering water!) When we notice a leak (usually indicated by a scream), we throw it out. I noticed this:img_3194

There are 7 left handed gloves and 2 right handed ones.  We don’t really seem to do all that much more with our right hands in comparison to our left hands, but this is what we end up with. I guess the only thing to do is to hire someone who is left-handed!

If you want to be kept up-to-date on what we are up to, follow us on Instagram at katsriversidestudio (and if you tag us, use katsriversidestudio, not riversidestudio which appears to be a music studio full of pictures of our yarn, haha).

I will leave you with a feeble promise to blog more, and picture of Frankie, meant to show my super cool leather measuring tape bracelet but which ended up focused on the cuter element, the dog.

img_2170

 

Leave a Reply

